The Monhegan Community Benefits Advisory Committee (“CBAC”)was established in July 2016 by Plantation vote to:

1. Aid in developing a community benefits agreement with Maine Aqua Ventus (“MAV”); and

2. Make recommendations to the Monhegan Board of Assessors on a specific community benefits package and associated agreement with MAV.

                                                         Committee Members: Tara Hire, co-chair
                                                                                              Jaye Morency, co-chair
                                                                                              Chris Smith
                                                                                              Andrew Dalrymple
                                                                                              Willard (Billy) Boynton
                                                                                              Winnie Murdock
                                                                                              Fred Faller

The committee is currently working to establish broadbandon Monhegan. CBAC meets the first Monday of the month via zoom.

On March 17th, 2020, the Monhegan COVID-19 Task Force was formed to support municipal departments through the COVID-19 pandemic by following the latest recommendations coming from the Federal and Maine Centers for Disease Control in order to support all residents of Monhegan Island. 

The Task Force is here to work with the Monhegan community to do everything we possibly can to assist however possible through the COVID-19 pandemic.

                                                         Taskforce Members: Jes Stevens

                                                                                            Jim Buccheri

                                                                                            Andrew Dalrymple

                                                                                            Tonya Arnold

                                                                                            Mott Feibusch

                                                                                            Matt Weber

The Ferry Advisory Committee was formed in 2020 to:

1. Facilitate communications between the Monhegan community and Ferry Operators and
2. Discuss mutually beneficial solutions 

                                              Committee Members: Michael Brassard

                                                                                   Jenn Pye

                                                                                   Pam Rollinger

                                                                                   Carley Feibusch 

The Ferry Advisory Committee has been working with the Monhegan Boatline since it's inception.

The Monhegan Energy Task Force (METF) is a task force authorized by the Monhegan assessors to carry out the Mission/Purpose as described: 

METF was formed to represent Monhegan in communications and negotiations with Maine Aqua Ventus regarding all aspects of the proposed offshore wind project, including the planning, construction, operation, and decommissioning phases. 

a) METF will gather information and disseminate it to the Monhegan community, including past and future studies that are shared with the task force by Maine Aqua Ventus. 

b) METF will reach out to state legislators and government agencies, and work with these agencies so as to communicate with the Monhegan community how they can optimally participate in the process. 

c) METF will negotiate benefits to offset the impact of the project. 

d) METF will work with Maine Aqua Ventus to prepare a Memorandum of Understanding that will need to be approved by the assessors of Monhegan Plantation. 

e) METF will work with Maine Aqua Ventus to prepare a Community Benefits Agreement that will be approved by the citizens of Monhegan Plantation at a Town Meeting. 

f) METF will work with a lawyer to ensure legal safeguards and protection of Monhegan resources. 

                                                                                 Taskforce Members: Winnie Murdock

                                                                                                                     Jim Buccheri